What Kind Of Heart Do You Have?

Dear Lord … I seek refuge from the evil of my own self.

If you want to know what kind of heart you have — reflect on these three questions:

What makes you happy?  What makes you sad?  What makes you angry?

I reflected on what makes me happy, and I found that it was, being given.  I saw that I am selfish.   I reflected on what makes me sad, and I found that it was, being deprived.   I saw that I am needy and dependent.   I reflected on what makes me angry, and I found that it was, being insulted.   I saw that I am arrogant.  Astaghfir Allah.

Harithah Ibn Wahb Al-Khuzai tells how he heard the Prophet say,

“Have I not taught you how the inhabitants of Paradise will be all the humble and the weak, whose oaths God will accept when they swear to be faithful? Have I not taught you how the inhabitants of Hell will be all the cruel beings, strong of body and arrogant ?”

Sahih Al-Bukhari

– Shams Al-Ghayeb


					
One comment on “What Kind Of Heart Do You Have?

  1. This post made me think a lot. I think we are all a work in progress. But even with a clear view of what our faults are it is important to remember we are still worthy of a grace and mercy every day like your quote from Kharaqani at the top of the page

Leave a Reply

